Employee Recognition

Clay County Sheriff’s Office Employee Recognition

The Clay County Sheriff’s Office (CCSO) Employee Recognition Program recognizes and rewards work and behaviors that support and further the missions, values and initiatives of the agency.

CCSO recognizes outstanding service in the following categories:

  • Medal of Honor

This medal is the highest honor awarded by the sheriff and is presented in extraordinary cases where a member risks his/her life in the line of duty. The member’s action must have exemplified outstanding bravery, exceptional gallantry and extreme courage.

  • Medal of Valor

This award is given to members who distinguish themselves by conspicuous acts of gallantry or acts of extraordinary heroism. Their action must be voluntary, in excess of normal demands, pose an imminent threat to member safety and be above and beyond the call of duty at the risk of losing his/her life.

  • Lifesaving Award

This award is given to a member whose intervention in a life threatening situation directly results in saving a human life.

January 2017 – Detective Bryan Smith
March 2017 – Detention Deputy Lori Hygema
March 2017 – Deputy Ed Kroh
March 2017 – Detention Civilian Pamela Thompson

  • Purple Heart Award

This award is granted for any serious injury inflicted on a member while performing official duties, by criminal means or by friendly weapon fire.

  • Certificate of Commendation

This certificate is given to a member of the agency performing his/her duties in a superior manner, bringing credit to him/her and to the sheriff’s office.

June Quarter – Sgt. Mark Ottervanger
June Quarter – Detective Michael Kirchner
June Quarter – Detective Michael Pesek
June Quarter – Detective Steven Dugger
June Quarter – Detective Warren Adams
June Quarter – Deputy James Tomlinson

  • Certificate of Appreciation

This certificate is awarded to a citizen in recognition of meritorious service rendered to the agency.

  • Florida Sheriff’s Association Distinguished Service Certificate

This recognition is presented to a private citizen who has assisted the sheriff’s office in crime prevention, apprehension of criminals, protecting life and property or in making a contribution toward improving law enforcement efficiency.

  • Citizen of the Year

This award is given annually by the sheriff and his/her staff.

  • Employees of the Quarter/Year

Awards are given each quarter to a deputy sheriff, corrections officer, full-time or part-time civilian employee, law enforcement supervisor up to the rank of lieutenant, corrections/civilian supervisor up to the rank of lieutenant and reserve/volunteer.  Prior to the April-June 2017 quarter, awards were given on a monthly basis.

January 2017 Deputy of the Month – Officer Michael Masline
February 2017 Deputy of the Month – Detective Matt Hanlin
June 2017 Civilian of the Quarter – CST Corinne Adams

  • Years of Service Pins

Recognition is given to employees for length of service in five year increments. The following individuals  received their 20,25, 30, and/or 35 year service recognition during 2017.

February 2017 – SVS Detective Cynthia Eisenhauer – 20 years
April 2017 – Warrants Specialist Diane Shaw – 20 years
May 2017 – Lt. Baylor Alexander – 20 years
May 2017 – Sgt. Mark Tate – 20 years
May 2017 – Sgt. Albert Lundin – 30 years